Warner Bros. and NetherRealm Studios have teamed up with the ESL for the Who’s Next? Mortal Kombat X Worldwide Competitive Program, which includes the Fatal 8 Exhibition Tournament, MKX ESL Pro League Tournament and the Mortal Kombat Cup. The series of tournaments invites players from North America and Europe to compete for a chance to win from a prize pool that starts at $100,000.

The program kicks off 11th April with the Fatal 8 Exhibition Tournament featuring top pro-fighting players from around the globe as they go head-to-head in the first MKX competition. Fans can watch the tournament live from the ESL studios in Burbank by getting tickets or online at NetherRealm Studios’ Twitch channel.

The worldwide MKX ESL Pro League Tournament opens on 19th April to Xbox One players from across North America and Europe. Weekly competitions will offer cash prizes, players can earn their spot as one of the 16 players sent to the grand finals which will take place on 11th July in Los Angeles.

The MK Cup is a series of live tournaments taking place in 17 International territories (list detailed at the bottom of this article). The fights will run from April through June, culminating in an International finale live from the JAPAN EXPO in Paris on the 5th July.

NetherRealm Studios is a huge supporter of the pro fighting game scene and to be able to work with ESL on the Pro League Tournament allows us to take the Mortal Kombat X competition beyond what we’ve ever done before,” said Ed Boon, Creative Director, NetherRealm Studios and co-creator of the Mortal Kombat franchise. “We’ve seen some incredible match-ups in the past and we can’t wait to see what this next level of competition brings.

MK players can support their favorite tournament combatants by purchasing the exclusive Blue Steel Sub-Zero skin where a portion of the proceeds will go directly to support the tournament prize pools.

Those who feel confident and skilled enough to take on the world can sign up in the Who’s Next? Mortal Kombat X Worldwide Competitive Program right here.

Here’s a handy list of the participating territories:

  • UK
  • Austria
  • France
  • Spain
  • Nordics
  • Italy
  • Greece
  • Russia
  • Poland
  • Hungary
  • Netherlands
  • Belgium
  • India
  • South Africa
  • Czech Republic
  • Portugal
  • Middle East