ArenaNet have announced that the second expansion for Guild Wars 2 (Path of Fire) is now available, digitally and physically, on PC across the US and Europe. Just after the end of of Living World Season 3, and in time for the fifth anniversary!

They’ve also released an infographic, showing off the milestones the franchise has achieved since its launch in 2012. The game has welcomed over 11 million players globally, who have created over 53 million characters, while earning a staggering 78 trillion total experience points over more than 61 free content releases and one expansion.

As for Path of Fire itself, there’s a vast new region that takes players across magic-drenched desert plains, ancient temples and ruins, and beautiful oases. Tyria’s very existence is in danger, as Balthazar, the god of war and fire, and his Forged legions descend upon the Crystal Desert and adjoining kingdom of Elona in their relentless hunt for Elder Dragons. To preserve the balance of magic and protect Tyria, players must hunt down and halt the rogue god and his army on their path of terror and destruction.

Guild Wars 2

“We’re thrilled to be bringing players back to the Elonian desert region, the setting for the Guild Wars: Nightfall campaign, after 250 years and dispatch them on their most daring adventure yet,said Mike O’Brien, co-founder and president of ArenaNet. “We have packed Path of Fire full of exciting features and immersive content that gives players alternative ways to experience Guild Wars 2, including new mounts and elite specializations for each of the classes.”

Mounts are also available for the first time, true companions and allies that allow players to solve puzzles, approach battles, and more fully explore Tyria. The four types of mounts you can unlock and train via the max-level Mastery character progression system, are:

  • The Raptor: Hardy, swift, and easy to train, raptors are intelligent creatures that can cross great distances in a single leap.
  • The Skimmer: Graceful creatures native to the Elon that can hover for short distances, making them indispensable for crossing large areas of treacherous quicksand or sulfur.
  • The Springer: The springer’s greatest strength is their ability to make jaw-dropping vertical leaps.
  • The Jackal: Elusive, magical creatures formed of shifting sands and given shape by magical runes that can dissipate into sand to teleport short distances, and dash through sand portals.

With nine new elite specializations, one for each of the professions, players can continue to customize their level-80 characters with unique playstyles, weapon choices, and traits. The elite specializations are:

  • Weaver (Elementalist)
  • Holosmith (Engineer)
  •  Firebrand (Guardian)
  • Mirage (Mesmer)
  • Scourge (Necromancer)
  • Soulbeast (Ranger)
  • Renegade (Revenant)
  • Deadeye (Thief)
  • Spellbreaker (Warrior)

Everyone who buys Guild Wars 2: Path of Fire will also get a Max-Level Boost to instantly raise one character’s level to 80, and provide gear and gold to help them begin their journey. Sound good? Then get exploring!