Frag for free and leave your enemies quaking in their boots.

Thanks to the success of the “E3 free-to-play” test, early access FPS shooter Quake Champions will go free-to-play permanently from now on. More than a million people downloaded and played the game during the E3 test period and it obviously helped to decide the framework and business model for Bethesda going forward.

To celebrate the release of the free-to-play Quake Champions and QuakeCon, players who log-in through August 12, will receive a limited edition, QuakeCon-orange Heavy Machine Gun skin. Players can also download the game right now via the Launcher or via Steam.

“Our free-to-play test at E3 saw more than a million players test their skill with Quake Champions, and the feedback we received from our community has helped us get to this point […] launching our free version for everyone,” said Tim Willits, Studio Director, id Software. “Quake Champions brings all of the intense gameplay and skill-based action that millions of fans have loved for decades, along with exciting new additions and twists, and provides it to anyone, all for free. And what better place to launch Quake Champions for free than at QuakeCon, a gathering of thousands of our most diehard fans, and with a major esports tournament with the best FPS players in the world.”

Bethesda has promised that new players will be treated to a constantly updated game experience with new content, improvements, and events planned for the future. The most recent update saw the return of an old fan favourite, the Death Knight.

The free-to-play version of Quake Champions comes with two Champions, the Ranger and Scalebearer, with additional Champions available for purchase separately or earned by spending in-game rewards. Free players can choose to upgrade to the Champions Pack at any time through a special early adopters bundle that includes all 14 current Champions, as well as all future Champions, and additional in-game rewards. The Champions Pack is currently available for £29.99.

id Software also recently revealed the future roadmap for Quake Champions, so that players can know what to expect from the team in the coming months. In addition to the routine performance and other improvements that come monthly, the team will be bringing:

– Three new Champions.
– Four new modes, including the return of Capture the Flag (CTF) and a new mode, Slipgate.
– Improved player progression and rewards.
– New weapons, skins, cosmetics and more.
– Improvements and refinements to matchmaking and bot play.